The Nov. 28 photo shoot at the President-elect’s residence in Trump Tower. Paul Moakley for TIME

Behind TIME's Donald Trump Person of the Year Cover

Dec 07, 2016

For the 2016 Person of the Year issue, TIME commissioned Nadav Kander to photograph President-elect Donald Trump—the person deemed to have most influenced the year’s news, for better or worse—for the cover of the magazine.

Sharp-eyed readers may notice that this is not the first time that Kander has photographed the cover image for TIME’s Person of the Year issue. In fact, Kander took the cover portrait the last time an election-year President received the title, when President Barack Obama was Person of the Year in 2012.

For this issue, Kander also photographed the members of Trump’s inner circle.

See Every Person Of The Year Cover Ever

2016: Donald Trump person of the year
2016: Donald TrumpPhotograph by Nadav Kander for TIME
2016: Donald Trump person of the year
TIME person of the year angela merkel 2015
TIME Person of the Year 2014 Magazine Cover: The Ebola Fighters 141222
2013: Pope Francis
2012: Barack Obama
2011: The Protester
2010: Mark Zuckerberg
2008: Barack Obama
2007: Vladimir Putin
2005: The Good Samaritans: Bill Gates, Bono, Melinda Gates
2004: President George W. Bush
2003: The American Soldier
2002: The Whistleblowers
2001: Rudy Giuliani
2000: President George W. Bush
1999: Jeff Bezos
1998: Kenneth Starr ad Bill Clinton
1997: Andrew Grove
1994: Pope John Paul II
1991: Ted Turner
1989: Mikhail Gorbachev
1987: Mikhail Gorbachev
1986: Corazon Aquino
1985: Deng Xiaoping
1984: Peter Ueberroth
1983: President Ronald Reagan and Yuri Andropov
1981: Lech Wałęsa
1980: President Ronald Reagan
1979: Ayatollah Khomeini
1978: Deng Xiaoping
1977: Anwar Sadat
1975: American Women
1973: John Sirica
1972: President Richard Nixon and Henry Kissinger
1971: President Richard Nixon
1970: Willy Brandt
1969: The Middle Americans
1968: The Apollo 8 astronauts
1967: President Lyndon B. Johnson
1965: William Westmoreland
1964: Lyndon B. Johnson
1963: Martin Luther King, Jr.
1962: Pope John XXIII
1961: President John F. Kennedy
1960: U.S. Scientists
1959: President Dwight D. Eisenhower
1958: Charles de Gaulle
1957: Nikita Khrushchev
1955: Harlow Curtice
1954: John Foster Dulles
1953: Konrad Adenauer
1952: Queen Elizabeth II
1951: Mohammad Mossadegh
1950: The American Fighting Man
1949: Winston Churchill
1948: President Harry S. Truman
1946: James F. Byrnes
1945: President Harry S. Truman
1944: Dwight D. Eisenhower
1943: George Marshall
1942: Joseph Stalin
1941: President Franklin D. Roosevelt
1940: Winston Churchill
1939: Joseph Stalin
1938: Adolf Hitler
1937: Chiang Kai-shek and Soong May-ling
1936: Wallis Simpson
1935: Haile Selassie
1934: President Franklin D. Roosevelt
1933: Hugh S. Johnson
1932: Franklin D. Roosevelt
1931: Pierre Laval
1930: Mahatma Gandhi
1929: Owen D. Young
1928: Walter Chrysler
1927: Charles Lindbergh
2016: Donald Trump
Photograph by Nadav Kander for TIME
1 of 90

Read more about why Donald Trump is 2016’s Person of the Year

All products and services featured are based solely on editorial selection. TIME may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website.