These are independent reviews of the products mentioned, but TIME receives a commission when purchases are made through affiliate links at no additional cost to the purchaser.

Tessa Hadley’s short story collection After the Funeral and Other Stories is about those moments of happenstance that change the trajectory of a life. Across 12 stories, the best-selling British author writes shrewd but compassionate profiles of characters, mostly women, who are at odds with their families, their partners, and even themselves. It’s through coincidence—a literal run-in with an ex-husband, a missed connection with an estranged sister, an unexpected dinner guest—that these unassuming characters are given a chance to reflect on who they have become and who they’d like to be. In “Funny Little Snake,” 24-year-old Valerie finds herself caring for her older husband’s 9-year-old daughter. After forming an unlikely bond with the child, who has long been neglected by her parents, Valerie makes a questionable decision that she hopes will put them both on exciting new paths. Like much of Hadley’s sharp-witted collection, this tale ends ambiguously. Just as it appears our protagonist is on the brink of a breakthrough, we are left to wonder if people really can change. —Shannon Carlin

Buy Now: After the Funeral on Bookshop | Amazon

More Must-Reads from TIME

Contact us at

Tom Lake
The Guest
All the Sinners Bleed
5 stories