• U.S.

The U.S. Just Tentatively Approved Flights to Cuba From 10 Cities

1 minute read

The Department of Transportation announced the eight airlines it plans to approve for flights to Havana from 10 U.S. cities as early as this fall.

The tentative decisions allow flights between Cuba’s capital and Atlanta, Charlotte, Fort Lauderdale, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, Newark, New York City, Orlando and Tampa. The airlines conducting the flights will be Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Frontier Airlines, JetBlue Airways, Southwest Airlines, Spirit Airlines, and United Airlines.

The government will allow only 20 roundtrip flights daily between the two countries, per the agreement to restore relations between the U.S. and Cuba a year ago, the Miami Herald reports.

“Today we take another important step toward delivering on President Obama’s promise to reengage Cuba,” U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx said in the announcement.

Most of those flights would depart from Fort Lauderdale and Miami. The DOT plans to have a final decision by the end of the summer, and then flights can begin 90 days after that.

[Miami Herald]

More Must-Reads From TIME

Write to Julia Zorthian at julia.zorthian@time.com