Australian tennis player Lleyton Hewitt may have won Tuesday night’s Hopman Cup match in Perth, Australia, but the real winner — in terms of sportsmanship — was his American opponent, Jack Sock, who encouraged him to challenge a serve declared “out” that was actually in.
Hewitt was behind in the first set 4-5 when Sock shouted, “That was ‘in’ if you want to challenge it.” Hewitt looks stunned by the amazing display of sportsmanship, as does the umpire. The audience laughs. And indeed, the replay of Hewitt’s first serve shows the ball landing on half of the sideline, which counts as “in.”
Hewitt won the match 7-5 6-4.