After falling within the first few seconds of the event, Kwang Bom reached out and grabbed the skate of Watanabe in an apparent attempt to take down the rival skater. However, for his part, Watanabe said that he doesn’t think the move was calculated.
“I believe it was unintentional,” he explained, according to Yahoo Sports. “His hand happened to be by my skate as he fell down.”
Japanese coach Jonathan Guilmette seemed to agree. “I don’t know what was his intention,” he said. “It is really hard to judge what’s the intention. I don’t know if he tried to grab the skates or if he is just trying to hold onto something like a reflex—there are so many hands all over in our sport. That was a reflex thing more than trying to trip over someone else.”
Despite the restart, Kwang Bom ended up being disqualified from the race after bumping into Watanabe and falling once again during the skaters’ second run.
Watch the clip below.
- What a Photographer Saw in the West Bank
- Accenture’s Chief AI Officer on Why This Is a Defining Moment
- Inside COP28's Big 'Experiment'
- U.S. Doctors Can't Be Silent About Gaza: Column
- The Movie Wives Would Like a Word
- The 100 Must-Read Books of 2023
- The Top 100 Photos of 2023
- Want Weekly Recs on What to Watch, Read, and More? Sign Up for Worth Your Time