Presented By
U.S. first lady Melania Trump listens to a toast by her husband President Donald Trump while hosting the annual Governors' Dinner in the East Room of the White House February 26, 2017 in Washington, DC.
Chip Somodevilla—;Getty Images

The First Lady will honor the winners of the State Department’s International Women of Courage Award Wednesday in Washington, DC.

The award recognizes those who have “demonstrated exceptional courage and leadership” in areas including human rights and gender equality, according to the State Department. It was introduced a decade ago by former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice.

The 2017 honorees include 13 women whose work involves countries such as Iraq, Yemen and Peru. The women awarded will travel throughout the U.S. as part of a special program to engage with Americans.

The First Lady will be joined by Thomas A. Shannon, who is currently serving as acting Deputy Secretary of State, for the ceremony, which begins at 11 a.m.

Watch live above.

More Must-Reads From TIME

Write to Zamira Rahim at

You May Also Like