Presented By
Wide receiver J.J. Nelson #14 of the Arizona Cardinals runs with the football after a reception past cornerback DeShawn Shead #35 of the Seattle Seahawks during the NFL game at the University of Phoenix Stadium on Oct. 23.
Christian Petersen—Getty Images

The Arizona Cardinals now have the longest title drought of teams in the four major American sports leagues, according to a NBC Sports report.

The Cardinal’s dubious distinction follows the Chicago Cubs history-making World Series win early Thursday morning over the Cleveland Indians. The Cubs had not won the title since 1908.

The Cardinals last won an NFL title in 1947 when the team was located in Chicago. The team later moved to St. Louis and eventually to Arizona where it is currently located.

World Series runners-up the Cleveland Indians, who last won a title in 1948, have the next-longest drought followed by the Sacramento Kings, which last won an NBA title in 1957.


More Must-Reads From TIME

Write to Justin Worland at

You May Also Like