By John Patrick Pullen and Josh Raab
December 8, 2016

Hugely helpful and easy to use, location sharing between iPhone owners is an underutilized gem, likely because people are afraid they’ll be tracked when they’d rather remain private. But sharing your location via the Messages app only gives friends a temporary peek into your whereabouts — and after the time expires, your phone’s location sharing turns off, and you’re invisible to your buddies again. This works great for meeting up to hang out downtown, or if you’re driving to a friend’s house, and you want to let them know when you’ll be there.

Contact us at editors@time.com.

SPONSORED FINANCIAL CONTENT

Read More From TIME

EDIT POST