J.K. Rowling in London in 2012.
Ben Pruchnie—Getty Images
March 31, 2014 10:38 AM EDT

J.K. Rowling’s Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is set to become an onscreen trilogy.

The author will write three films based on the 54-page Hogwarts textbook that she wrote in 2001, between the publication of the fourth and fifth Harry Potter books. The films will be set in New York seven decades before the Harry Potter stories and follow “magizoologist” Newt Scamander.

The series was first announced in September as a project, but Warner Bros. CEO Kevin Tsujihara revealed to the New York Times on Saturday that the films would be a trilogy. Warner Bros. hopes that the Harry Potter spinoff trilogy will be as popular as the three Hobbit movies (the second of which premiered in December).

Emma Watson, who played Hermione in the seven Harry Potter films, has even said previously that she may appear in the Fantastic Beasts movies. “I would definitely be up for a cameo!” Watson told MTV News.


More Must-Read Stories From TIME

Write to Eliana Dockterman at eliana.dockterman@time.com.

Read More From TIME
You May Also Like