The European Union flag flies at half mast outside EU Commission Headquarters following the attack on March 22, 2016 in Brussels, Belgium.
Carl Court—Getty Images
April 13, 2016 8:20 AM EDT

The E.U. has delayed a decision on whether to require Americans and Canadians to obtain visas before traveling to their member countries.

Currently, Americans can typically travel to any E.U. nation without a visa, but certain member countries are frustrated that the privilege is not mutual. Citizens of Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania must obtain a visa before visiting the U.S., and the same is true of those traveling from Bulgaria or Romania to Canada.

Authorities discussed the proposal on Tuesday but decided to delay a decision until the summer, the New York Times reports. By July 12, the European Parliament and the 28 member countries will be expected to advise on what should happen next.

The European commissioner for citizenship and migration said the E.U. would assess “the legal, political and economic consequences” of the proposal and that he hoped for a “balanced and fair outcome.” A State Department spokesperson said reciprocity had always been treated “on a case-by-case” basis, adding that the objecting countries “haven’t met the legal requirements, and we’re working with them and with the E.U. on how they can take the steps that will help them meet those requirements.”


More Must-Read Stories From TIME

Contact us at

Read More From TIME
You May Also Like