Photo of Run DMC.
Michael Ochs Archives—Getty Images
January 13, 2016 9:10 PM EST

Considering they’re widely accepted as one of the most influential hip-hop groups in history and the forerunners for such artists as N.W.A., the Beastie Boys, LL Cool J and more, it’s a bit surprising that Run-D.M.C. has yet to win a Grammy. (Raising Hell earned the group a nomination for Best R&B Vocal Performance, before there was a hip-hop category.)

So this year, the Recording Academy will honor Joseph “Run” Simmons, Darryl “D.M.C.” McDaniels, and the late Jason “Jam Master Jay” Mizell with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 58th annual Grammy Awards. Earth Wind & Fire and psychedelic rock pioneers Jefferson Airplane will also receive the award — for musicians “who have made contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording” — alongside Ruth Brown, Celia Cruz, Herbie Hancock, and Linda Ronstadt.

“Each year, The Academy has the distinct privilege of honoring those who have greatly contributed to our industry and cultural heritage, and this year we have a gifted and brilliant group of honorees,” Academy president Neil Portnow said in a statement. “Their exceptional accomplishments, contributions, and artistry will continue to influence and inspire generations to come.”

The Recording Academy also announced on Wednesday that John Cage, Fred Foster, and Chris Strachwitz will be honored with Trustees Awards, while EMT and Dr. Harvey Fletcher will receive Technical Grammys.

The 58th annual Grammy Awards take place Feb. 15. See the full list of nominees here.

This article originally appeared on

More Must-Read Stories From TIME

Contact us at

Read More From TIME
You May Also Like