Updated: | Originally published:

Warning: This post now contains major spoilers for Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker.

The Star Wars universe is a dangerous one, from its epic lightsaber battles to shootouts with clones to massive starship explosions. Throughout the saga, 111 major characters (defined as anyone who’s had some impact on the plot) have met their end.

Now that you’ve had a chance to continue the galaxy far, far away journey in The Rise of Skywalker, the final installment in the nine-part “Skywalker Saga” out Dec. 20, take a few minutes to remember all those who have been lost.

Note: This list, which is compiled in chronological order of events in the movies, covers deaths in the nine episodic Star Wars movies and Rogue One. It doesn’t include Star Wars Legends, the franchise’s expanded universe.

May the Force be with you.



More Must-Reads From TIME

Write to Megan McCluskey at megan.mccluskey@time.com.

Read More From TIME