By Tessa Berenson
November 12, 2015

Innovators in fields ranging from theater to space travel are among the winners of the 2015 American Ingenuity Awards.

The Ingenuity Awards recognize “breakthroughs in the arts and sciences, education and social progress,” according to Smithsonian. This is the fourth annual class of winners.

One of this year’s winners is Lin-Manuel Miranda, the composer and star of Broadway’s hit musical Hamilton, who was awarded in the history category. The performing arts award was given to Saturday Night Live alums Fred Armisen and Bill Hader for their parody “Documentary Now!” television series.

Other recipients include Alan Stern, the scientist leading the New Horizons Pluto mission, and Doo Yeon Kim and Rudolph Tanzi, neurologists making progress in Alzheimer’s research.

The awards will be given at the National Portrait Gallery Thursday night, with presenters including Sen. Al Franken and Bill Nye the Science Guy.

Read more about the recipients here.

Write to Tessa Berenson at


Read More From TIME