An NFL shield logo is painted on the field before the game between the Detroit Lions and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in Detroit on Nov. 24, 2013.
Mark Cunningham—Getty Images
March 2, 2015 2:08 PM EST

The NFL’s salary cap for 2015 has officially been set at $143.28 million, the league announced Monday.

This is the second straight year in which the NFL’s salary cap jumped by $10 million. The 2014 salary cap was $133 million.

According to, the current leaders in estimated cap space are the Jacksonville Jaguars ($68.2 million), Oakland Raiders ($55.4 million), Cleveland Browns ($53.7 million), New York Jets ($51.4 million) and Indianapolis Colts ($45.2 million).

The new league year will officially begin March 10, which also marks the beginning of free agency. Teams must be under the 2015 salary cap by this date and have submitted any qualifying offers to restricted free agents.

Clubs must designate franchise or transition players by 3 p.m. CT on Monday. Negotiations may begin with unrestricted free agents on March 7.

Franchise tag values based on position were also announced.

This article originally appeared on

Contact us at

Read More From TIME

Related Stories