Ebola virus diagram
Getty Images
August 21, 2014 6:56 PM EDT

South Africa has closed its borders to any non-citizens traveling from Ebola-infected areas. The country will not allow in anyone traveling from Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, and all non-essential outgoing travel to West Africa is prohibited.

Citizens traveling from affected countries will be put through a screening process, the health ministry said on Thursday, according to the BBC. South Africa does not have any cases of Ebola yet, though they have had two scares in recent weeks.

As of August 18, 1,350 people have died of Ebola during this outbreak.


More Must-Read Stories From TIME

Write to Eliana Dockterman at eliana.dockterman@time.com.

Read More From TIME
You May Also Like