• Entertainment

Field Report Take You “Home” on New Song: Premiere

2 minute read

Back in 2012, TIME included Field Report— the musical brainchild of Chris Porterfield, a former bandmate of Justin Vernon (better known as Bon Iver) — in a list of bands to watch. That prediction proved prescient: in the years since, Field Report released a stellar self-titled album filled with heavy-hearted alt-folk, toured with the Counting Crows and Aimee Mann, and finished a second album, Marigolden, due out October 7th on Partisan Records.

The new album is filled with darkly beautiful songs that grapple with demons and dreams in equal measure. Marigolden shows Porterfield tussling with his newly tumultuous life, trying to balance fame and family. The first single, “Wings”, is as soaring as the title implies, with evocative melodies and ethereal synths lushly layered behind Porterfield’s rich voice.

“Home,” which TIME premieres today, is an elegant homage to homesickness: it’s about Porterfield’s plaintive longing to be literally home, not just homeward bound. It’s a raw, poetic track that showcases Porterfield’s skilled songcraft and knack for observation — especially when it’s pointed inward.

Listen to Field Report’s “Home”:

Track List:

1. Decision Day
2. Home (Leave The Lights On)
3. Pale Rider
4. Cups and Cups
5. Ambrosia
6. Wings
7. Marigolden
8. Michelle
9. Summons
10. Enchantment

MORE: Watch Electro-Pop Singer Kiesza Perform an Acoustic Cover of Nirvana’s “Heart-Shaped Box”

MORE: Watch a Weird Snippet From Kanye West’s Unreleased ‘RoboCop’ Video

More Must-Reads from TIME

Contact us at letters@time.com