Vegan and lactose-intolerant friends rejoice!
Ben & Jerry’s officially announced Tuesday that the firm is developing dairy-free ice cream flavors.
A statement on the brand’s website said they have been working on getting the flavors right for some time after being inundated with requests from the public.
The company said their flavor gurus “want to make sure these flavors live up to what Ben & Jerry’s is known for: enormous chunks, delicious swirls and a commitment to values-led ingredient sourcing.”
Ben & Jerry’s co-founder Jerry Greenfield broke the news last week in an interview with U.K. newspaper the Metro. He said they would be using coconut milk or almond milk as the new non-diary base.
But fans will have to wait until spring next year for a taste of the mystery dairy-free flavors.