A Soyuz-FG rocket booster carrying the Soyuz MS-11 spacecraft with Roscosmos cosmonaut Oleg Kononenko, NASA astronaut Anne McClain, and Canadian Space Agency (CSA) astronaut David Saint-Jacques aboard lifts off to the International Space Station (ISS) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome.
Valery Sharifulin—Valery Sharifulin/TASS
By Associated Press
December 3, 2018

BAIKONUR, Kazakhstan — Three astronauts have blasted off to the International Space Station, a successful launch that follows October’s aborted mission.

NASA astronaut Anne McClain, David Saint-Jacques of the Canadian Space Agency and Oleg Kononenko of the Russian space agency Roscosmos lifted off as scheduled at 5:31 p.m. (1131 GMT; 6:31 a.m. EST) Monday from the Russian-leased Baikonur cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

A Soyuz-FG rocket carrying NASA astronaut Nick Hague and Roscosmos’ Alexei Ovchinin failed two minutes into its flight on Oct. 11, activating an automatic rescue system that sent their capsule into a steep ride back to Earth. A Russian investigation attributed the failure to a sensor that was damaged during the rocket’s final assembly.

Since the mishap, four successful Soyuz launches have been conducted to clear the path for the crew’s launch.

Contact us at editors@time.com.


You May Like