President Donald Trump signs an executive order in the Oval Office of the White House in Washington, Friday, Feb. 3, 2017. Trump signed an executive order that will direct the Treasury secretary to review the 2010 Dodd-Frank financial oversight law, which reshaped financial regulation after 2008-2009 crisis. (AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais)
President Donald Trump signs an executive order in the Oval Office of the White House in Washington on Feb. 3, 2017.  Pablo Martinez Monsivais—AP

See Every Executive Order Donald Trump Has Signed Since Becoming President

Feb 10, 2017

President Donald Trump's flurry of executive actions — 12 orders and 11 memoranda since taking office — outline his strategy to build a border wall, restrict immigration, fight terrorism and more.

But these orders aren't inviolable, as seen Feb. 3 when U.S. District Judge James Robart temporarily blocked Trump's travel ban. Robart said that a judge's job is to ensure that an action taken by the government "comports with our country's laws."

Those laws, outlined in the constitution, don't make specific provision for executive actions. But presidents have issued actions since George Washington, whose orders included making Nov. 26 a national day of thanks. Other famous executive actions include desegregating the military and establishing the Peace Corps.

William Henry Harrison, who died after 32 days in office from pneumonia, is the only president that never issued an order. Franklin D. Roosevelt penned the most, at 3,721, creating the Works Progress Administration of the New Deal, and infamously permitting Japanese-American interment camps.

Click on the executive actions below, which include executive orders and presidential memoranda, to see a summary and the full text.

All products and services featured are based solely on editorial selection. TIME may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website.