In this photo illustration, the logo of Instagram is displayed on a smartphone on Sept. 27, 2016 in Berlin, Germany.
Thomas Trutschel—Photothek via Getty Images
By Lisa Eadicicco
Updated: December 14, 2016 3:48 PM ET

Instagram is launching a new feature that will make it easier to revisit posts from other users.

Instagrammers will begin seeing a bookmark icon underneath posts in their feeds, the company announced Wednesday. Tapping the icon will add that photo or video to a private tab in their profiles. The account that shared the post will not be able to tell if it’s been saved. The update will be released on Wednesday for iOS and Android, and in the coming weeks for Windows 10 devices.

Instagram, which is owned by Facebook, is highlighting the new feature as an ideal tool for those who use its app to keep track of new ideas, not just to follow their friends, making it a more viable alternative to Pinterest.

“When you stumble upon a funny video you want to remember, a new outfit you like or even inspiration for an upcoming vacation, you can now keep track of favorite posts right from your profile,” the company wrote in a blog post announcing the feature.

Instagram has added other capabilities to its app over the past several months to help it take on social media rivals like Snapchat. In November, users were given the ability to send disappearing photos and videos to followers, and just last week, they got the option to turn off comments and remove followers.

SPONSORED FINANCIAL CONTENT

You May Like

EDIT POST