TIME Television

3 Things to Know About Saturday Night Live’s 3 New Cast Members

Mikey Day in Los Angeles, Sept. 18, 2008.
Mark J. Terrill—AP Mikey Day in Los Angeles, Sept. 18, 2008.

The new additions follow the departures of Taran Killam and Jay Pharoah

Saturday Night Live has announced three new cast members for its upcoming 42nd season. Comedians Mikey Day, Melissa Villaseñor and Alex Moffat will join the sketch show, which premieres its new season on Oct. 1 on NBC, according to Mashable.

Mikey Day
Day becomes a featured player after spending three years on SNL’s writing staff and a recent writing and acting gig on the NBC variety show Maya & Marty. Before joining SNL, he performed with Groundlings in Los Angeles, a sketch comedy theater that boasts Will Ferrell and Kristen Wiig among its alumni.

Melissa Villaseñor
Stand-up comic Villaseñor is known for her on-point celebrity impressions on her YouTube channel. She was a top finalist on America’s Got Talent, and has lent her voice to animated shows like Adventure Time and Family Guy.

Alex Moffat
Moffat, a Chicago-based improv and sketch performer, joins the institution after working with the iO Theater, Annoyance and Second City, the last of which kickstarted the careers of Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Dan Aykroyd and Bill Murray, among several SNL legends.

The cast additions follow the sudden departure of stars Taran Killam and Jay Pharoah in August.

Tap to read full story

Your browser is out of date. Please update your browser at http://update.microsoft.com


Dear TIME Reader,

As a regular visitor to TIME.com, we are sure you enjoy all the great journalism created by our editors and reporters. Great journalism has great value, and it costs money to make it. One of the main ways we cover our costs is through advertising.

The use of software that blocks ads limits our ability to provide you with the journalism you enjoy. Consider turning your Ad Blocker off so that we can continue to provide the world class journalism you have become accustomed to.

The TIME Team