Plane crosses moon
A Southwest Airlines passenger plane crosses the waxing gibbous moon in Whittier, May 30, 2015. Nick Ut—AP

6 U.S. Airlines Approved for Cuba Flights

Jun 10, 2016

Americans will be able to fly commercial to Cuba in the fall, the U.S. Transportation Department announced on Friday.

The Transportation Department approved six U.S. airlines— American, JetBlue, Frontier, Southwest, Sun Country and Silver Airways— to fly to Cuba, marking the first time in decades that non-charter flights have been scheduled to the island.

Flights could begin as early as the fall from Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Chicago, Philadelphia, Chicago and Minneapolis/St. Paul, while scheduled flights will reach nine Cuban cities.

U.S. law still bans tourism to Cuba, but there are some current exceptions: educational tours or journalistic activity, according to Reuters. President Barack Obama began restoring relations with the Communist nation in December 2014.

All products and services featured are based solely on editorial selection. TIME may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website.