TIME celebrities

See How Celebrities Spent New Year’s Eve and Welcomed in 2016

From Demi Lovato to Justin Bieber and Ariana Grande

Like everyone else, celebrities brought in 2016 on Thursday night. Well, maybe not quite like everyone else.

Here’s a look at how a few of them celebrated New Year’s Eve.

Pop princess Ariana Grande and her brother Frankie marked their family celebration with a selfie.

We love you and hope your 2016 is ALREADY off to a GRANDE start! 🎉🎉🎉 #newyearseve #2016 #happynewyear

A photo posted by Frankie James Grande (@frankiejgrande) on

She also posted a funny video with fellow celebs Billie Lourde and Keke Palmer doing what sounds like a helium-fueled take on R. Kelly’s 2003 R&B classic “Ignition.”

#2015 memoriiiiies with old and new friends #screamqueens #yasqueen @kekepalmer @praisethelourd

A video posted by Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) on

Singer Luke Bryan marked his New Year’s Eve with a performance in Times Square, as did Demi Lovato with her boyfriend Wilmer Valderrama. The That ’70s Show star posted several pictures, including a selfie of the couple after Lovato’s performance.

NYC, y'all are the best. Happy New Year everyone

A photo posted by Luke Bryan Official (@lukebryan) on

#2016 we are ready.. #HappyNewYear to all of you!.. Let's get our minds right!

A photo posted by Wilmer Valderrama (@wilmervalderrama) on

Justin Bieber posted a quiet picture of himself ready for his night out.

Happy New Years lets go

A photo posted by Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) on

While Aussie movie star Hugh Jackman posted a message to his fans during his.

Happy New Year to you and yours. #2016

A photo posted by Hugh Jackman (@thehughjackman) on

Jackman’s compatriot Rebel Wilson brought in 2016 in her native Australia, with the comedienne posting pictures of a party in Sydney.

Happy New Year from Downunder!! @HowToBeSingle

A photo posted by Rebel Wilson (@rebelwilson) on

Kim Kardashian, meanwhile, chose to post a couple of pictures marking her husband Kanye West’s brand new single “Facts,” including a picture of Taylor Swift — who also had a new track out on Dec. 31.

FACTS

A photo posted by Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) on

FACTS

A photo posted by Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) on

Actress Diane Kruger, meanwhile, didn’t really have too much cause for celebration. Two days ago, she announced on her Instagram that she was suffering from an undisclosed illness and appeared far from better on the big night.

Way to start the new year haha #beingsicksucksballs

A photo posted by Diane Kruger (@dianekruger) on

Tap to read full story

Your browser is out of date. Please update your browser at http://update.microsoft.com


YOU BROKE TIME.COM!

Dear TIME Readers,

As a regular visitor to TIME.com, we are sure you enjoy all the great journalism created by our editors and reporters. Great journalism has great value, and it costs money to make it. One of the main ways we cover our costs is through advertising.

The use of software that blocks ads limits our ability to provide you with the journalism you enjoy. Consider turning your Ad Blocker off so that we can continue to provide the world class journalism you have become accustomed to.

The TIME Team