Now every day is Throwback Thursday—at least on Facebook.
Facebook unveiled a new feature Tuesday called “On This Day,” which resurfaces posts and photos you shared or were tagged in exactly one year ago, two years ago, and so forth. The digital memories will be available only for you to see, but you can also share them with your friends.
On This Day appears to be Facebook’s answer to Timehop, a popular “today in history” app for various social media platforms—like Facebook and Twitter—that boasts more than 12 million registered users, half of whom log on each day.
Though Facebook doesn’t exactly need help getting users to check the social media platform daily—it has 890 million daily active users—the company has previously encountered trouble when giving users a ride down memory lane. Last year, the Year in Review feature sparked controversy when it brought back painful memories to some users. As a result, the On This Day algorithm has special rules that will block out past posts involving, for example, former romantic partners or friends who have died, from your News Feed.
Facebook previously tested out a new feature called “Memories” briefly in 2010, but it was never rolled out widely.