TIME Unveils Finalists for 2014 Person of the Year

Dec 08, 2014

TIME's editors named eight final candidates for the 2014 Person of the Year on Monday.

TIME managing editor Nancy Gibbs revealed the shortlist on NBC's Today show. Here are the eight still in the final running, in no particular order:

  • The Ferguson protesters, who took to the streets in August following the fatal shooting of an unarmed black 18-year-old by a white police officer, and again in November when a grand jury declined to indict the officer in the killing.
  • The Ebola caregivers, who are still fighting the biggest Ebola outbreak in history, that has so far taken the lives of nearly 7,000 people in West Africa.
  • Vladimir Putin, the Russian president who has remained in the headlines throughout this year, from his country's stewardship of the Winter Olympics in Sochi to its annexation of Crimea, and its role in the ongoing civil strife in eastern Ukraine.
  • Taylor Swift, one of the world's top-selling pop artists, who this year shook up the music industry by pulling her music from streaming service Spotify, which she believes should compensate artists more.
  • Jack Ma, an English teacher turned founder and CEO of Alibaba, the Chinese e-commerce giant which debuted a $25 billion IPO.
  • Tim Cook, who introduced Apple's iPhone 6 and 6 Plus, Apple Watch, and Apple Pay this year, and whose decision to come out made him the first openly gay Fortune 500 CEO.
  • Masoud Barzani, the acting president of the Iraqi Kurdish Region since 2005, who has deftly threaded the region's push for independence with the ongoing fight against the Islamic State of Iraq and Greater Syria.
  • Roger Goodell, the National Football League commissioner whose leadership has been under great scrutiny this year as the league dealt with public incidents of domestic abuse by players such as Ray Rice, among other controversies.

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

MORE: Everything You Wanted to Know About TIME's Person of the Year

Gibbs will unveil TIME's Person of the Year on Today on Wednesday morning, when it will also be shared on Twitter and Facebook. Readers have already made their choice, picking Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi as their favored candidate in TIME's online poll.

See Every Person Of The Year Cover Ever

2016: Donald Trump person of the year
2016: Donald TrumpPhotograph by Nadav Kander for TIME
2016: Donald Trump person of the year
TIME person of the year angela merkel 2015
TIME Person of the Year 2014 Magazine Cover: The Ebola Fighters 141222
2013: Pope Francis
2012: Barack Obama
2011: The Protester
2010: Mark Zuckerberg
2008: Barack Obama
2007: Vladimir Putin
2005: The Good Samaritans: Bill Gates, Bono, Melinda Gates
2004: President George W. Bush
2003: The American Soldier
2002: The Whistleblowers
2001: Rudy Giuliani
2000: President George W. Bush
1999: Jeff Bezos
1998: Kenneth Starr ad Bill Clinton
1997: Andrew Grove
1994: Pope John Paul II
1991: Ted Turner
1989: Mikhail Gorbachev
1987: Mikhail Gorbachev
1986: Corazon Aquino
1985: Deng Xiaoping
1984: Peter Ueberroth
1983: President Ronald Reagan and Yuri Andropov
1981: Lech Wałęsa
1980: President Ronald Reagan
1979: Ayatollah Khomeini
1978: Deng Xiaoping
1977: Anwar Sadat
1975: American Women
1973: John Sirica
1972: President Richard Nixon and Henry Kissinger
1971: President Richard Nixon
1970: Willy Brandt
1969: The Middle Americans
1968: The Apollo 8 astronauts
1967: President Lyndon B. Johnson
1965: William Westmoreland
1964: Lyndon B. Johnson
1963: Martin Luther King, Jr.
1962: Pope John XXIII
1961: President John F. Kennedy
1960: U.S. Scientists
1959: President Dwight D. Eisenhower
1958: Charles de Gaulle
1957: Nikita Khrushchev
1955: Harlow Curtice
1954: John Foster Dulles
1953: Konrad Adenauer
1952: Queen Elizabeth II
1951: Mohammad Mossadegh
1950: The American Fighting Man
1949: Winston Churchill
1948: President Harry S. Truman
1946: James F. Byrnes
1945: President Harry S. Truman
1944: Dwight D. Eisenhower
1943: George Marshall
1942: Joseph Stalin
1941: President Franklin D. Roosevelt
1940: Winston Churchill
1939: Joseph Stalin
1938: Adolf Hitler
1937: Chiang Kai-shek and Soong May-ling
1936: Wallis Simpson
1935: Haile Selassie
1934: President Franklin D. Roosevelt
1933: Hugh S. Johnson
1932: Franklin D. Roosevelt
1931: Pierre Laval
1930: Mahatma Gandhi
1929: Owen D. Young
1928: Walter Chrysler
1927: Charles Lindbergh
2016: Donald Trump
Photograph by Nadav Kander for TIME
1 of 90
The Brief NewsletterSign up to receive the top stories you need to know right now. View Sample

Read next: Narendra Modi Wins Reader Poll for TIME Person of the Year

TIME may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.