TIME On Our Radar

2014 World Press Photo Awards Announced

Today, the winners of the prestigious 57th annual World Press Photo competition were announced in Amsterdam.

John Stanmeyer from the U.S. received the prize for World Press Photo of the Year 2013. His piece shows African migrants on the shore of Djibouti city, raising their phones in an attempt to capture an inexpensive signal from neighboring Somalia. Djibouti is a common stop-off point for migrants in transit to Somalia, Ethiopia and Eritrea.

TIME photography featured prominently, with Sara Naomi Lewkowicz picking up 1st prize in the Contemporary Issues category for her series on domestic violence in Ohio, William Daniels winning 2nd prize in the General News category for his work on violence and unrest in Central African Republic, and Peter van Agtmael being awarded 2nd prize in the People/Observed Portraits category for his portraits of Iraq veteran Bobby Henline.

Your browser is out of date. Please update your browser at http://update.microsoft.com